Virtual Machine Types

Would you please add more powerful VMs available to the individual plan? I’ve run into memory and compute time issues with gcp-large in the Kaggle TalkingData competition. For example, n1-standard-16 (https://cloud.google.com/compute/docs/machine-types) would be minimally sufficient for feature engineering on that full training dataset. Having more cores than the 8 in gcp-large would be very helpful in LightGBM training. The TalkingData competition is over today, but for the future, please…

Hi Jonathan!

We’ll add an option to use more powerful machines - I cannot give a fixed date right now, but we’ll keep this in mind for nearing releases. In your opinion, what would be a good choice - 16, 32 or 64 cores? Is the RAM associated with n1-standard-* machines appropriate or would you prefer more/less?

Thanks Piotr! I am not an expert in the hardware specs, and “more” always seems like the answer… :slight_smile: However, we can take some clues: in this post, The #6 gold medal finisher indicates his setup:

I mostly used a 20 core Xeon at 2.3 MHz with 64 GB RAM and 64GB swap. That machine is a bit slow, but it scales when using 20 threads. I also used another machine with a 4 core i7 and 2 GPU to run Keras

Perhaps then a good choice for a “huge” machine is n1-standard-32 which is 32 cores and 120GB memory. This is approx $1.50/hr.

Is this “just” a configuration addition? If so, then maybe add a few different sizes, including a K80 with 4 GPUs?

Thanks for the link - very useful info. We’ll have an internal discussion on priorities, but you can certainly expect more CPU/GPU-packed machines to appear in Neptune.

Hi Jonathan, it took us a while, but we have just released much more machine options. Pls check it out and let me know what you think https://neptune.ml/pricing/ in particular 64 CPUs, 208.00 GB RAM, 4x GPU (P100, 64.00 GB RAM).
Cheers!